Forgot Password?

< Feb 2020 >
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29


Jennie Davis-Bulko, Assistant Director, Community Action Youth Programs


David WilesWiles Media
David is a 2006 graduate of The Franklin County Technical School's Information Technology Program. David won 2nd place at a state level website design competition at just 16 years old. He did his co-op education placement helping Young Entrepreneurs Society with several web development projects. He started Wiles Media in 2011, after being an independent web developer for 5 years. He hand-coded this site using open-source SQL and php with a sprinkle of HTML and Javascript. When David's not working in his home office, he enjoys fishing, hunting and co-owning Boondock BBQ.

Design, Content, Direction
Tim Cohen-Mitchell, former CEO & Founder, Young Entrepreneurs Society, Inc.
Tim founded YES in 1998, and has served as its CEO until 2013. He was named a "Teacher of the Year" by the Network for Teaching Entrepreneurship (NFTE) and served as a NFTE teacher trainer in the U.S. and Canada. An honors graduate of Vermont Academy, Tim holds a BA, cum laude, in anthropology, an M.Ed., in community development education, and a doctorate in youth entrepreneurship education, all from UMASS, Amherst.

This site is hosted at no charge thanks to the generous folks at Dreamhost. Need a host? You won't find a better, more affordable and green provider (their servers are powered by 100% renewable energy). Sign up here and they'll make a cash donation to the BizVenture Series at no cost to you!


Staff and Volunteers
Tim Cohen-Mitchell, CEO & Founder, Young Entrepreneurs Society
Clint Heilman, YES BizCorps Member (UMASS Engineering '14)
Geo Interiano, YouthServe AmeriCorps, Community Action Youth Programs (Hampshire '12)
Riley Kelleher, YES BizCorps Member (Bennington '16)
Tyler Sweeney, Coordinator (Job-Ready AmeriCorps) and YES member
Diana Wheeler, Coordinator (Commonwealth Corps)
Jonathan ‘Yoni' Glaser, Public Relations (UMASS, Amherst Federal Work-Study)
Nick Sweeney, President, North Quabbin Young Leaders Council and YES member
The helpful AOTV production and office crew, for producing Manager's Corner
David Wiles, Web Developer, Owner, Wiles Media, and YES Member (Commonwealth Corps)
Joshua Nichols, Graphic Design Student, Mt. Wachusett Community College (Intern)
Kenan Jackson, BizTour presentation and BizQuiz sampler (Commonwealth Corps)
Rondale Davis, Sponsorships (UMASS, Amherst Federal Work-Study)
Christine McMahon, Manager, YES BizCenter, raffle (and much more)
Josh Davoren, BizAwards facility assistance and YES member
Jacki Bergert, BizTour postering, BizAwards videographer and YES member
Greg Stewart, BizAwards speaker, owner of MP3J Digital DJ and YES member
Ben Simon, President, North Quabbin Young Leaders Council and YES member (Babson '14)
Colleen Jacobsen, Community Action Youth Programs (AmeriCorps)
Andrea Benjamin, YES member
Katie Marble, Manager, YES BizCenter and YES Member
Jenessa Kupcho, Promoter (UMASS, Amherst Federal Work-Study)
Roman Sweeney, Youth Leader and YES member
Bobby Falco-Killoran, Owner/Manger, BFK/Phil Harmonix Studio and YES member

Irv Rhodes, CEO, Community Funding Pareners, Inc.
Amy Shapiro, Franklin County Community Development Corporation
Rick Kwiatkowski, Town Administrator, Town of Orange
Tammy-Lynn Chace, Executive Director, North Quabbin Chamber of Commerce
Phil Corrinet, Owner, Corrinet Marketing
Richard Roth, Owner, TnR Global
David Ames, Town Manager, Town of Athol
Noel Vincent, Co-Owner, Orange Innovation Center
Steve Raymond, Executive Director, North Quabbin Chamber of Commerce
Darren Alston, Assistant Clerk Magistrate, Orange District Court
Rebecca Bialecki, Executive Director, North Quabbin Community Coalition

Organizing Committee
David Ames, Town Manager, Town of Athol
Carol Giguere, Teacher, Ralph C. Mahar Regional School
Rick Kwiatkowski, Town Administrator, Town of Orange
Amber Ortiz Houghton, The Literacy Project, Franklin Hampshire REB
Zita Rasid, Co-Owner, Orange Innovation Center
Tammy-Lynn Chace, Director, North Quabbin Chamber of Commerce
Noel Vincent, Co-Owner, Orange Innovation Center
Steve Raymond, North Quabbin Chamber of Commerce
Lynne Price, Office Manager, AOTV
Nicholas Wheeler, MBA student, Southern New Hampshire University
State Representative Denise Andrews, Co-Owner, Legacy Unlimited
Charlie Pierson, GCC student and YES member
Ben Simon, President, North Quabbin Young Leaders Council, YES member
Jerry Whaland, YES alumnus, incorporator, and president emeritus

Innovations are always scaffolded on ideas that precede them. Even past failures become fertilizer for new growth. The BizVenture Series is no exception. We would like to express our sincere thanks to everyone whose ideas and experiences have guided or influenced ours, directly or not, consciously or not, including: Steve Mariotti, President and Founder, Network for Teaching Entrepreneurship (NFTE), for his friendship and mentoring and for writing the curriculum used at BizKamp. NFTE for inspiring BizPlan, BizAwards and many other elements of the BizVenture Series. To all of YES' NFTE-certified teachers who each contributed to BizVenture since 1998. Dr. Andrew Hahn of Brandeis University, for some of the questions used in BizQuiz. Amy Shapiro, Director of Business Assistance, Franklin County Community Development Corporation, for her early and continuing support of YES and for helping secure SBA funding for the research and development that helped BizVenture evolve from a stand-alone class to an annual series. The creators of erstwhile Ideablob.com for inspiring the BizIdea Challenge.

If we have erred in not acknowledging a debt or reference, please forgive us (and let us know).

big thanks to our sponsors!

platinum Illinois Institute of TechnologyWiles MediaYoung Entrepreneurs Society